Flight Sergeant Douglas Albert BRUDERLIN

Service No: 444773
Born: Singleton NSW, 15 February 1926
Enlisted in the RAAF: 25 March 1944
Unit: No. 33 Squadron
Died: Aircraft Accident (No. 33 Squadron Dakota aircraft A65-54 (VH-CUP)), New Britain, 15 November 1945, Aged 19 Years
Buried: Rabaul (Bita Paka) War Cemetery, PNG
CWGC Additional Information: Son of Albert Harry and Susan Whyburn Bruderlin, of Singleton, New South Wales, Australia
Roll of Honour: Singleton NSW
Remembered: Panel 103, Commemorative Area, Australian War Memorial, Canberra ACT
Remembered: Singleton War Memorial, Singleton NSW

On a flight from Jacquinot to Rabaul on 15 November 1945, Dakota A65-54 crashed into the jungle in New Britain at about 0920 hours at position 05.12S 151.52E and all 27 people on board were killed. The aircraft impacted about 150 feet below the crest of a 7,000 mountain in dense jungle and it took rescue parties several days to reach the scene. On board A65-54 were:


Flight Sergeant Douglas Albert Bruderlin (444773) (Wireless Operator)
Flight Lieutenant Ronald Alexander Hanrahan (423723) (Pilot)
Flight Lieutenant Grahame Patrick Lobwein AFC (404723) (Co-Pilot)


Sepoy Abdullah Jan (9508) (Indian Army) (14th Punjab Regiment)
Lieutenant Leonard Henry Beard (V196067) (8 Movement Control Group)
Leading Aircraftman Norman Harold Blake (431713) (112 Mobile Fighter Control Unit)
Leading Aircraftman Stanley William Bridge (69362) (No. 313 Radar Station)
Seaman David Thomas Bristow (PM8156) (RAN) (HMAS Bangalow)
Sepoy Chain Singh (17649) (Indian Army) (12th Frontier Force Regiment)
Major Laurence Balerno Cunningham (SX25194) (5 Base Sub Area AEME)
Leading Aircraftman Hugh Cushing (419913) (No. 112 Mobile Fighter Control Unit)
Sepoy Dina Nath (7381) (Indian Army) (17th Dogra Regiment)
Private Ronald Arthur Evans (VX78437) (10 Field Bakery Platoon AASC)
Lieutenant William Reaburn Grieve (VX135784) (18 Advanced Ordnance Depot)
Sepoy Gustasab Khan (17600) (Indian Army) (14th Punjab Regiment)
Naik Hamir Singh (11928) (Indian Army) (12th Frontier Force Regiment)
Lieutenant Colonel Thomas Dennis Hannon (SX11016) (1 Australian Army Dental Corps)
Lieutenant John Lisle Honey (RAN) (HDML 1354)
Sepoy Lakhu Ram (12148) (Indian Army) (12th Frontier Force Regiment)
Warrant Officer II Clive Frederick Martin MID (NX157274) (1 New Guinea Infantry Battalion)
Leading Aircraftman Maurice James Mills (137163) (No. 311 Radar Station)
Sepoy Muzaffar Ali (6786) (Indian Army) (14th Punjab Regiment)
Havildar Munshi (4406) (Indian Army) (17th Dogra Regiment)
Major Lionel Charles Saunders MID (VX20272) (HQ 1 Australian Army)
Sister Verdun Bernice Sheah (501253) (RAAF Nursing Service) (No. 1 Medical Evacuation Unit)
Sepoy Shiv Singh (18182) (Indian Army) (1st Punjab Regiment)
Lance Naik Sikandar Khan (12053) (Indian Army) (12th Frontier Force Regiment)

The Indian Soldiers were former Prisoners of War being taken to Rabaul to appear as witnesses in Japanese War Crimes Trials.


Australian War Memorial Roll of Honour On-Line Records
Commonwealth War Graves Commission On-Line Records
Department of Veteran’s Affairs On-Line WWII Nominal Roll
National Archives of Australia On-Line Record A9845, 117; A705, 166/6/1442 (contains list of Indian Army personnel)
Register of War Memorials in New South Wales On-Line


Wilson, S. (Stewart) Dakota, Hercules and Caribou in Australian Service, Aerospace Publications Weston Creek ACT 2611, 1990

Book Now Book Now